Our first trip - Reisverslag uit New York, Verenigde Staten van Timon Berg - WaarBenJij.nu Our first trip - Reisverslag uit New York, Verenigde Staten van Timon Berg - WaarBenJij.nu

Our first trip

Door: Timon van den Berg

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Timon

31 Maart 2014 | Verenigde Staten, New York

At the center of Time Square New York you really will feel small, there is no escaping it! Our first real trip in the USA was to time square.
The first step was to get from our hotel to a metro station, which proved to be kind of troubling. In London the metro system is easy and it speaks for itself on every street corner you see an obvious sign with text and explanation. Here in New York to even find a metro is hard let alone finding one that heads in your direction. I hope by the end of the week I will be able to use the metro system properly.
After we bought ourselves a metro card (seven days unlimited for $30,-), we managed come close to Time Square. Time square is a very known sight from movies, yet I did not recognize it at once. There were just too many impressions! After we got out of the metro and above the ground again, the buildings were huge and the billboards bright. We needed to get some breakfast first. I chose my first real American pancakes. They were served with fresh fruit, maple sirup and whipped cream. Delicious!
We split up before breakfast and were to meet again in front of a specific Star bucks. It was then that I realized and saw that it was actually Time Square we had been on all along. After I’d ordered my way too big coffee and drunk it inside while texting the home front, I walked outside. As I did that the sun broke true the clouds and instead of the grey city I saw before, there now was a lively city with colors everywhere. I knew this was going to be a good day.

  • 01 April 2014 - 09:45

    Opa:

    Nice to read. See that American Englisn is already creeping into your writing. Have a nice stay there and see as much as possible. It will certainly not be an every year's visit!

  • 01 April 2014 - 14:15

    Timon Van Den Berg:

    Haha! well, that was a specific choice in this matter, since I am in America. I will enjoy every minute of it. Thanks!!!

Tags: Timesquare

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Timon

I am a third year student in the Netherlands. My goal is to become a teacher of the English subject. In order to complete my training I need to do my stay abroad. I chose to do my stay abroad in America. A trip my school offers is the Bellingham trip, an organised trip to give me a clear view on, and a first hand experience of the American culture.

Actief sinds 26 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 280
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4148

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Maart 2014 - 26 April 2014

Bellingham trip, NHL Leeuwarden

Landen bezocht: