Prior to... - Reisverslag uit Leeuwarden, Nederland van Timon Berg - WaarBenJij.nu Prior to... - Reisverslag uit Leeuwarden, Nederland van Timon Berg - WaarBenJij.nu

Prior to...

Door: Timon van den Berg

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Timon

26 Maart 2014 | Nederland, Leeuwarden

My trip to Bellingham:
It's only a couple of days away now. The trip of my life (so far). I have been to foreign countries of course, but that was always relatively close to the Netherlands. This time I'm heading for the states. THE STATES! A grand country, in which a mere burger is bigger than the city I live in.

My expectations:
I've had on good authority that the things I will see in the States will be unike anything I've ever seen. The nature, the people, the culture... It all is so different than what we're used to in the Netherlands. Everybody I have spoken who went to the United States of America wanted to visit again. It is for this reason that my expectations of the trip are very high.

When I'm in the USA I hope to learn a lot about the culture and people, like: What do they like to do in the weekends? Do they like their sports as much as Europeans? How does religion influence everyday life? What is the difference in hospitality in comparison to the Netherlands? Gunlaw. how are Americans really opposed to guns in houses? There is probably a whole lot more to learn which I cannot come up with on the spot, but that will all be readable in the next reports

My view:
My view on the American is now absolutely basic. Lets start with guns in their houses. I expect nearly everybody to be in possesion of at least one gun but is it really so? Also, the religion is a big thing in America. I wonder if it is that way in most of the households. Therefore I will ask my trip mates to their experiences.The one thing Amricans are known for is their patriotism. The flag of America is raised in a pole in front of the house as they are very proud to be a citizen of the USA.

My trip will tell me if this is just prejudice or a general truth. Either way I am very excited to find out.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Timon

I am a third year student in the Netherlands. My goal is to become a teacher of the English subject. In order to complete my training I need to do my stay abroad. I chose to do my stay abroad in America. A trip my school offers is the Bellingham trip, an organised trip to give me a clear view on, and a first hand experience of the American culture.

Actief sinds 26 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 151
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4123

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Maart 2014 - 26 April 2014

Bellingham trip, NHL Leeuwarden

Landen bezocht: